Golden Anniversary for Groundbreaking Governor’s Cup


The 50th Annual International Junior Match Racing Championship, which will be held at Balboa Yacht Club on July 19-23, will debut the new Gov Cup 22 sail boats designed by Club member S/C Alan Andrews.

This year, the upper age limit for the racers has been raised to 22 years of age, which has made it possible for past winners to return to try to repeat against the strongest field in the history of the event. All but one of the twelve skippers competing this year have previously raced in the Gov Cup.

BYC’S Governor’s Cup is the oldest junior match race event in the world. The first event was held in 1967, two years after the first Congressional Cup was held at Long Beach Yacht Club. Inspired by that Match Racing format, BYC members Chet and Glee Purcell organized the Gov Cup to provide similar competition for their son, S/C Tom Purcell and his friends. Tom is co-chairing the 2016 50th Governor’s Cup with Paul Blank.

Southern California teams to be included are the team from the host club led by Christophe Killian. Also competing are Chris Weis from Del Rey Yacht Club and Nevin Snow from San Diego Yacht Club. Nevin won in 2011. Charles Lalumiere will be representing the Portland Yacht Club in Maine.

Five teams have arrived from Australia, including skippers/brothers Lachy and Sam Gilmour from Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club. Sam won in 2013 and 2014. Also coming from RFBYC is Will Bouldon, the only skipper who had not previously raced in the Gov Cup. From Cruising Yacht Club of Australia is the team led by Harry Price, the 2015 winning team. William Dargaville, of Royal Prince Alfred Yacht Club will race again as well.

Also from “Down Under’ is George Anyon and his team from Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron. George also raced in 2014 and 2015. For the first time, a team representing Japan will compete. It will be led by Ryo Takahashi. Romain Screve and his team from San Francisco Yacht Club was selected to race due to winning the recent U.S. Youth Match Championship for the Rose Cup, held in June.

The Gov Cup is known as the “Pathway for Champions” with many alumni going on to America’s Cup and other worldwide sailing success including the most recent Congressional Cup Champion, Taylor Canfield, who successfully defended his 2014 Con Cup win. He led his team from the US Virgin Islands in both the 2007 and 2008 Governor’s Cups. Another Gov Cup Alum, James Spithill, won the America’s Cup in 2010 and 2013.

Source :

Also read

Get your hard-copy now!

Your advert in The Islander Magazine?

Get your hard-copy now!

Your advert in The Islander Magazine?

and receive your invitation to our events