Marten 72 wins RORC Transatlantic Race

Arco Van Nieuwland and Andries Verder’s Marten 72, Aragon has been declared the overall winner of the 2016 RORC Transatlantic Race and also the winner of IRC Zero.

Aragon had some tough moments during the 14 days racing in the RORC Transatlantic Race as co-owner, Andries Verder explained:

“The weather was very challenging and that was the stressful part of the race; we were trying to save every second; this was a transatlantic race and we always had that in our minds. We blew out a few spinnakers, but we managed to keep up our speed and performance and we finished the race with everybody safe and sound. The boat performed very well and as expected. A large part of that is excellent planning; without that, small issues can easily damage your chances of winning. Everything held up perfectly and that is due to very good preparation. We also have a good spirit in the team and that friendship, combined with the preparation of a great boat, is a winning combination. It was wonderful to arrive in Port Louis and receive such a fantastic welcome.”

rtr-2016-logoLloyd Thornburg’s MOD70, Phaedo3 has already been declared winner of the Multihull Class and Mike Slade’s Farr 100, Leopard was awarded the International Maxi Association (IMA) Trophy for Monohull Line Honours and was third overall after IRC time correction. Infiniti 46, Maverick, skippered by Oliver Cotterell was second overall and winner of IRC Canting keel.

Halvard Mabire and Miranda Merron’s Campagne de France was presented with a RORC Transatlantic Race Decanter as winner of the Class40 Division and Laurent Pellecuer’s Seconde Chance was declared winner of IRC One.

Two yachts are still racing in the IRC fleet, however, neither James Heald’s Swan 45, Nemesis nor Giles Redpath’s Lombard 46, Pata Negra can better Aragon’s IRC corrected time.

Winners: 2016 RORC Transatlantic Race:

RORC Transatlantic Race Trophy (Awarded to the yacht posting the best corrected time under IRC) and IRC Zero
Aragon, Marten 72, Arco Van Nieuwland and Andries Verder (NED)

International Maxi Association Trophy – Monohull Line Honours + Third overall
Leopard3, Farr 100, Mike Slade (GBR)

IRC Canting Keel and 2nd overall
Maverick, Infiniti 46, skippered by Oliver Cotterell (GBR)

Seconde Chance, Class40, Laurent Pellecuer (FRA)

Campagne de France, Halvard Mabire (FRA) and Miranda Merron (GBR)

Multihull Class
Phaedo3, MOD70, Lloyd Thornburg (USA)


Also read

Get your hard-copy now!

Your advert in The Islander Magazine?

Get your hard-copy now!

Your advert in The Islander Magazine?

and receive your invitation to our events